Backing up and restoring VMs

proxmoxProxmox has a really easy to use backup solution, that can also be scheduled.


Configure Storage

Note that the storage you use for backups has an option to set how many backups can be stored per VM.

  1. Start by logging on to Proxmox VE.
  2. Select Datacenter.
  3. Select the Storage tab.
  4. Select the storage you are using for backup.
  5. Click Edit.
  6. For Max backups, select a number between 0 and 365.

 

Manual VM Backups

To initiate a backup, start by logging on to Proxmox VE.

  1. Select the VM that you want to backup.
  2. Select the Backup tab.
  3. Click Backup now.
  4. In the Backup VM dialog box:
    1. Select the destination Storage for this backup.
    2. Choose Mode: Snapshot, to backup the VM without down-time.
    3. Choose Compression: GZIP for best compression, with slightly longer backup time.
    4. Click Backup to start the backup job.

You can close the dialog box, and the backup job will continue.  You can double-click the running task to see the dialog box again.

 

Scheduled Backups

You can schedule daily or weekly backups.

  1. Select the Datacenter.
  2. Select the Backup tab.
  3. Click Add.
  4. In the Create: Backup Job dialog box:
    1. Select the Node.
    2. Select the destination Storage for this backup.
    3. Select Days of the week (e.g. select all days for a daily backup).
    4. Select a Start Time (e.g. 00:15).
    5. Choose Selection Mode: Include selected VMs.
    6. Enter an Email address.
    7. Send Email notifications either Always or On failure only.
    8. Choose a Compression (e.g. GZIP).
    9. Choose Mode: Snapshot.
    10. Ensure that the backup job is Enabled.

 

Restore

The restore procedure is fairly straightforward.

  1. Start by shutting down your VM.
  2. Select your VM.
  3. Select the Backup tab.
  4. Select the most recent backup of your VM.
  5. Click the Restore button.
  6. In the Restore: VM dialog box, confirm the Storage location.
  7. Click Restore.

Your existing virtual hard drive will now be overwritten with the backup version.  Note that the restore procedure takes less time than the same backup.

 

Thanks for visiting.