How to share files and folders

nextcloudA key benefit of storing your files in the cloud is the ability to share with others. This article describes the process.


Share with other Nextcloud users

Start by logging on using a browser.

  1. Select the folder tab folder (top-left).
  2. Click share next to the file or folder that you want to share.
  3. The sharing side panel will appear on the right.
  4. Search for user or group by typing the name.
  5. Click to select the user or group.

Note that when you create a share, the recipients of the share will normally receive an email notification.

 

Share links for external users

If you need to send a link address to recipients outside you Nextcloud instance, you can use a share link.

  1. Click share next to the file or folder that you want to share.
  2. The sharing side panel will appear on the right.
  3. Click the plus next to shareLink to create a share link address.
  4. You will now be able to copy the link, by clicking clipboard

Now you can send an email to any person, and paste the link into the email. Note that you can create multiple levels of access (e.g. public read only, staff team full access), by adding multiple share links.

 

Sharing permissions

By default your file or folder might be shared with higher access than you want. You should always check sharing permissions.

Sharing internally

  1. Next to the user or group name click 3dotsHorizontal
  2. Select from the following options:
    1. Allow editing:
    2. Allow creating: (only available for folders)
    3. Allow deleting: (only available for folders)
    4. Allow resharing:
  3. You can also set an expiry date for this share.
  4. When you no longer need to share it, you can click Unshare.

Sharing externally

  1. Next to the sharelink  shareLink click 3dotsHorizontal
  2. Select from one of the following options:
    1. Read only:
    2. Allow upload and editing: (only available for folders)
    3. File drop (upload only): (only available for folders)
  3. There are other options you can also select.
    1. Hide download:
    2. Password protect:
    3. Set expiration date:You can set an expiry date for this share.
  4. When you no longer need to share it, you can click Unshare.

 

Thanks for visiting.